First Team


A Team


The Forest of Dean Masters Football League finished on Monday 30 November 2009 with Lydbrook Athletic becoming champions.

All the games were played at Heywood School on the artificial grass pitch. Five teams took part in the league playing each other twice. The majority of the players were 35+. Some had hung up their boots altogether until this league. Others are still turning out for their teams, some solely as masters.

A big feature of the league was its very sporting nature. The two referees Martin Chidley and Allan Hale said they enjoyed officiating the competition.

The league was very competitive and it was only in the last two weeks that Lydbrook drew clear. They convincingly beat Ranks A and Ranks B in their final two games. Soudley had looked as though they would make a fight of it until Ranks B surprisingly beat them.

The league was set up by the Forest of Dean District Council as part of the Forest Activity Network Plan. After this pilot, it as planned to set up another league next year and a third the following year. The two additional leagues planned are to be played at Lydney and Newent.